Prince Eric

PLEASE READ THIS LINK FIRST BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE IN THIS BLOG.

I’d give much too much to get the fairytale back,
But I know it would still turn into nightmares of black.
I’d lie to myself one more time
Drink deeply of the honeyed wine
Ensnare myself again and cut you some slack.

I want to tell you how sorry i feel
How your pain, so heavy, makes me kneel,
How knowing that I
Could have been by your side
Makes my chest heave and ache – I can’t heal.

I want you to say you forgive me again,
Do those little things unlike other men,
Today I’d accept
Your lies and contempt
To live once more in the dream you penned.

Call me once more your “Admir’d Miranda”
On flowered paths and along verandas
Notice my small things,
Smiling at shared rings,
And recite favourite passages and stanzas.

But don’t tell me about your supposed wealth,
Or scare me with lab results of your health.
There’s no purple car,
You’re not getting far,
The enchantment is over – the clock struck 12.

If only the story you’d told was your own
And you were ready to reap what you sow
I love the soul I got to see
And would have for eternity,
But this bed of lies you planted is so overgrown.

Still I miss you even though I don’t want to
And I’m trying to reclaim something true.
I sift through memories and I dig,
A chest-aching, soul-crushing gig,
And I’m breaking – you broke me – through and through.

8 thoughts on “Prince Eric”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started